Lake Murray Power Squadron, Lake Murray's Boating Club

Home Up Boating Course Calendar Civic Service Cruising Education Member Info The Bridge Related Links USPS

LMPS Wraps 2016 with Awards and Holiday Celebration

by P/C Debra Allen, AP

Lake Murray Power Squadron members, old and new alike, donned their gay apparel and came out to celebrate the holiday season with good food, fellowship and the desire to thank those who made 2016 special. It was exciting to see so many new faces mingled with us “old timers” as Cdr Janice Ayers welcomed 62 members and their guests to our annual Christmas Party at Saluda Shoals on Saturday 17 December 2016. The evening featured presentation of the squadron's annual awards, outstanding door prizes, a delicious dinner and time with good friends talking about boating.

The Commander had an engaging slide show running during the cocktail hour showing the many activities and events that our members enjoyed during 2016. A special highlight of the evening was the opportunity for a “Couple’s Holiday Photo.” Offered by P/C Tony and Donna Dodson for a contribution to the “Ramp Fund,” the photo sessions collected $241 for our fund-raising project to replace the ramp at Flotilla Island.

The evening’s big event, however, was the awards presentation. First up to present the Rusty Anchor Award for an "unscheduled, unplanned, full immersion" were P/C Mike Kirk, whose boat was involved in the incident, and Past Rusty Anchor Recipient Retta Strohecker. This year’s recipient is Lt Chuck Clark, who took out the railing at a gas dock on the St. John’s River in Florida when he insisted on holding Stella’s line instead of cleating it off like his wife Teresa told him.

Following the fun of the Rusty Anchor presentation, P/C Jerry Wise presented the squadron's most prestigious service award – the Golden Anchor Award. Presented annually to a squadron member "for distinguished and unselfish service to the squadron with outstanding leadership, vision and ability," the 28th recipient is Past Commander and Past District Commander Lloyd Pitts, whose long-standing teaching efforts were cited.

Next up was the Commander’s Award, which is solely determined by the commander and offers an opportunity to recognize someone who has been an asset in making Lake Murray a better squadron. P/C Wise announced that he was presenting the Commander’s Award to his 2016 Bridge for the tremendous effort the entire group put forth during a difficult year of rebuilding.

The next service award was presentation of the Spark Plug Award that is given to a new member of two years or less who started their squadron career with a real spark. The 2016 recipient is a couple: Holly and Dan Drake. P/C Wise also congratulated LMPS Member-at-Large R.J. Becht as the recipient of the District 26 Catch the Spirit Award.

There was no 2016 nominee for Lake Murray’s infamous Bent Prop Award, which is presented to the member who inflicts in a most spectacular fashion the most damage to his or her vessel or the vessel and/or property of others – so perhaps a good thing that there was no recipient.

Click on the first thumbnail below to open a slide show of the evening's festivities.

DSC_0402 DSC_0403 DSC_0404 DSC_0414 DSC_0418 DSC_0419
DSC_0420 DSC_0422 DSC_0424 DSC_0425 DSC_0426 DSC_0427
DSC_0428 DSC_0429 DSC_0430 DSC_0431 DSC_0432 DSC_0433
DSC_0434 DSC_0435 DSC_0436 DSC_0437 DSC_0438 DSC_0440
DSC_0441 DSC_0442 DSC_0443 DSC_0444 DSC_0445 DSC_0446
DSC_0447 DSC_0451 DSC_0456 DSC_0460 DSC_0461 DSC_0464

Updated 22 March 2017
Copyright 2000-2016 Lake Murray Power Squadron
Privacy Statement | Trademarks | Disclaimer Statement
 Send mail to with questions or comments about this website.
 Distinctive Communicator Award: 2016 Website