America's Boating Club of Lake Murray

Home Up Boating Course Calendar Civic Service Cruising Education Member Info The Bridge Related Links USPS

Awards and More Highlight Lake Murray's Christmas Party

Lake Murray members, old and new alike, donned their gay apparel and came out to celebrate the holiday season with good food, fellowship and the desire to thank those who made 2018 special. It was exciting to see so many new faces mingled at the annual Christmas Party at Saluda Shoals. The evening featured presentation of the squadron's annual awards, outstanding door prizes, a delicious dinner and time with good friends talking about boating and creating those important memories.

The evening’s big event, however, was the presentation of awards. Be sure the check out the photos below to see the award recipients and the competition for the ugliest Christmas sweater!

P/C R.J. Becht announced that Lt Donna Dodson, AP was the recipient of the 2018 Commander’s Award. This award is solely determined by the commander and offers an opportunity to recognize someone who has been an asset in making Lake Murray a better squadron.

The squadron's most prestigious service award ─ the Golden Anchor Award ─ was then presented. This award is presented annually to a squadron member "for distinguished and unselfish service to the squadron with outstanding leadership, vision and ability." P/C R.J. announced P/C Debra Allen, AP as the recipient of the 2018 Golden Anchor Award.

Recognizing a new member of two years or less who started their squadron career with a real spark, P/C R.J. announced that Lt Ed Garbe was the 2018 recipient of The Spark Plug Award. Then came the Catch the Spirit Award, presented for meritorious service in going above and beyond to help grow our beloved squadron, was awarded to Lt/Cs Rick and Betsy Agar.

On a lighter note, was presentation of Lake Murray’s infamous Bent Prop Award, given annually to the member who inflicts in a most spectacular fashion the most damage to his or her vessel or the vessel and/or property of others. P/C R.J. announced Lt/C Rick Agar as the recipient of the 2018 Bent Prop Award.


xmas2018__0001 xmas2018__0002 xmas2018__0003 xmas2018__0004 xmas2018__0005 xmas2018__0006
xmas2018__0007 xmas2018__0008 xmas2018__0009 xmas2018__0010 xmas2018__0011 xmas2018__0012
xmas2018__0013 xmas2018__0014 xmas2018__0015 xmas2018__0016 xmas2018__0017 xmas2018__0018
xmas2018__0019 xmas2018__0020 xmas2018__0021 xmas2018__0022 xmas2018__0023 xmas2018__0024
xmas2018__0025 xmas2018__0026 xmas2018__0027 xmas2018__0028 Have a Wonderful
New Year!

Updated 25 May 2019
Copyright 2000-2019 Lake Murray Power Squadron, America's Boating Club℠ of Lake Murray
Privacy Statement | Trademarks | Disclaimer Statement
 Send mail to with questions or comments about this website.
 2018 Distinctive Communicator Award for Website